rory nugent

Selected Works

BOOK
A report from the water's edge on the people, ideas and culture zooming toward the vanishing point
A GREAT RIDE ON THE TRAIL OF THE RAREST DUCK IN THE WORLD
JOURNALISM
A VISIT TO HELL ON EARTH: SOUTHERN SUDAN
THE VIEW FROM INSIDE THE WHEELHOUSE CHARTING RADICAL ISLAM'S COURSE LEADING TO 9-11
WRITTEN IN '94, THIS REMAINS THE STANDARD ARTICLE ON THE IRA
Atlantic Magazine
The world's largest, most expensive cruise ship slips into the water as the recession blows a gale
Journalism
A simple meal in a complex place

Quick Links ( email to.... rory@rorynugent.com )

Find Authors

My Works

The Tempest sent to the bottom, 2004
Down At The Docks....Great writing...Sociology the way Joe Mitchell used to explain it: Boston Globe

DOWN AT THE DOCKS
In the tradition of MOBY-DICK, DOWN AT THE DOCKS is an authentic American fish story and along the way, it logs the passage of a nation from bottom of the heap to top of the pile...Critics call it: A classic...Important...At last, a worthy heir emerges to claim the legacy of Joe Mitchell...Engaging...Among America's best non-fiction...

THE SEARCH FOR THE PINK HEADED DUCK
TRAVEL WRITING AT TOP FORM..Atlantic Magazine

In Nugent, America has at last produced a travel writer as crazy as the British....John Leonard, Newsday & NPR
This book is funny and smart, welcome to the big leagues, Mister Nugent...George Trow, the NY'er


DRUMS ALONG THE CONGO, THE SEARCH FOR MOKELE-MBEMBE, THE LAST LIVING DINOSAUR
THE PAST STILL BREATHES.

A spanking good travelogue...Great writing...Kirkus Reviews

REBELS OF THE APOCALYPSE
THE WAR IN SUDAN AND THE BEST STUFF WRITTEN ABOUT THE CONFLICT IN, WELL, DECADES, MAYBE EVER...THE INDEPENDENT

Short-listed for ASME award; syndicated in 11 languages

MARCH OF THE GREEN FLAG, STRIDENT ISLAMISTS ON THE MOVE
KHARTOUM,94-95, WITH THE CAPTAIN AND CREW OF ISLAMIC FUNDAMENTALISM

A wonderful mix of adventure and reportage told by one of America's best journalists...Guardian
Eerily accurate...we all should have read this piece the day it came out...SF Chronicle
One of the first and still one of the best stories on Islamic Fundamentalism....

INSIDE THE IRA
REPORT FROM BEHIND THE MASK AND NONE BETTER, Village Voice

ASME short-list and short-listed for Press Association Picture of the year

A must read in the White House...The best reporting ever out of N.Ireland...WaPo




Superboat
OASIS OF THE SEAS sets a new standard in ocean travel.
Everything about her is big: price tag, size, fuel consumption.

My Lunch With Osama Bin Laden
For Rolling Stone Magazine... Read this story and learn from a reporter who was tracking radical Islam, its root and meaning, back when the rest of the media was content to phone-in work about celebrity culture...SF Chronicle


UPSIDE DOWN
En route to the start of the 1980 Observer Singlehanded Trans-Atlantic Race, Nugent's boat, Godiva Chocolates, was capsized by a rogue wave eleven miles from that exact spot in the North Atlantic most remote from land


New Bedford harbor



IRA at a Belfast Disco

IRA OP near the border

IRA on patrol


Southern Sudan, where the horrific has twisted itself into the everyday

IRA Volunteer on road block duty in Northern Ireland